The Terrible News from Chile

I love Chile, it is a wonderful country that produces great wines and the Chilean wine industry is full of lovely people, many of whom have become friends over the years.

So, the recent news from Chile has shocked me deeply. I know that the epicentre of this terrible earthquake was between the wine regions of Bío Bío and Maule, but that wine areas as far north as Colchagua have been affected and that damage has been done even as far away as Santiago itself.

It is at times like this that we realise how very small the modern world is. Chile is no longer a far away land of which we know nothing, but a vibrant, leading and integral part of the wine world.

My heart goes out to all my friends in Chile, even the ones I have yet to meet.  I can barely imagine what you are going through at the moment, but I wish you well and am with you in spirit.

If any of you would like to leave messages of support here, I would be grateful.

8 thoughts on “The Terrible News from Chile

  1. Quentin, thank you for posting this. I too have felt terrible about this all weekend. After several trips to this far off land over a period of 17 years seeing lots of changes, the people, the vines and the landscape do indeed also feel very close to me.

    Several people who know Chile’s history and its people have pointed out that they are a strong people, used to coping in adverisity – they will get through this. We can only wish them lots of courage. In the course of an exchange on Facebook, Michael Cox, UK director of Wines of Chile ended a note with “Viva Chile, Fuerza Chile” – I like that sentiment.

  2. Pingback: The Terrible News from Chile « Quentin Sadler's Wine Page

  3. Thanks Quentin. I was so sad to hear the news, having many friends and associates in Chile. According to the Times, ninety per cent of the buildings in Curicó have been destroyed, so I am particularly concerned fro Valdivieso and San Pedro. I hear from Rachel Child that the people Casa Silva near San Fernando are ok, but they have suffered bad damage. They have a wonderful, quirky small hotel there where I, and the groups I have taken, fell in love with the wines, the people and the place. As Wink Lorch and Michael Cox have said the Chileans are strong, and I know they will gather even more fortitude from the good wishes of all lovers of wine.

  4. Thanks for writing about Chile. I send the sentiments of your other comments. Chileans are resilient but what a sad sad event.

  5. I share your emotion, Quentin. Some cellars have been annihilated, and at this time of the year, just before the harvest, many wonder where they will crush the grapes and stock the wine. Nobody deserves such a sad fate.

  6. Posting from santa cruz: the town has been severely damaged, the plaza de armas is a mess with the Iglesia needing to be pulled down along with 99% of adobe structures in the entire valley. My brick house survived unscathed incredibly but I was lucky. Vineyards have lost not only up to 100% of their wines but there will be almost no work for the people most affected. We still don’t have electricity and water onlycame back this morning. No looting or Amy trouble in Santa Cruz- really fantastic people here.

    Please keep buying Chilean wine and pleas don’t believe everything you see on the news regarding looting etc, it s a small minority. Fuerza chile indeed.

Leave a Reply

